As a part of the Methodist movement begun by John Wesley in 18th century England, our church began with the efforts of missionaries to Indian Territory in 1891. With D.H. Upchurch as the pastor, the church was officially chartered in 1893 and our first building was constructed on 4th and Elm by lots donated by A.N. Spencer.
While two other church buildings had been constructed, the first part of our present campus was built in 1958. As the eastern part of our campus, this houses our chapel, pre-school and children’s ministry. In 1980, the campus expanded with educational space, offices, parlor, kitchen and multi-purpose Christian Life Center. In the 2000s, the youth floor was added to the CLC to offer more educational space. In 2008, the new sanctuary was opened that could comfortably accommodate 300 as we continue to make disciples for Jesus Christ.
In our 125+ years, we have been blessed to be served by many devoted pastors. And today, we continue serving God and the Yukon community as vibrant congregation with a desire to make a difference around us.